Is this e-mail not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Design for Aging 2015 Call for Entries
AIA Design for Aging Review 13 Awards
Presented by the AIA Design for Aging Knowledge Community in partnership with LeadingAge

Mark B. Browning, AIA
L.D. Burton
Vassar Byrd
Alexis Denton, AIA
Maria Lopez
Jay Woolford

Call for entries: 2015 aia Design for aging review 13 Awards
Submission Deadline: Before 5PM ET, May 29, 2015

The Design for Aging Review program, a joint effort of the AIA and LeadingAge, includes a juried exhibition, a companion book, and education programs. The program encompasses a broad view of facilities designed for senior citizens, including nursing homes, dementia care, assisted living, and continuing care retirement communities.

The Design for Aging Review seeks not only to demonstrate architectural design trends and recognize excellence but also to serve as a reference for providers, developers, users, advocates, architects, and other design professionals in this growing market. Since the competition began in 1992, more than 300 facilities, domestic and international, have participated in the review.


All entries must meet the following requirements for each of the entry categories:

  • Open to AIA Members and non-members based in the United States or Internationally.
  • Projects submitted by jury members or by the organizations they represent, and projects that included jury members on their team, will be disqualified.
  • All entries must receive permissions from owners and other team members and acknowledge that permission as part of the submission. Designers and providers should collaborate on completing the form, as there likely are some questions better answered by one group or the other.
  • Projects may only be submitted once, under one category (i.e. not Built and Small Projects, or Not Built and Small Projects). If a project can be classified under more than one category, applicants are encouraged to choose the one they think best applies to their project.

Submission Categories

  • Built Projects
  • Not Built Projects
  • Small Project Built or Not Built ($3-million construction cost or less) Projects

Entry Fees

Below is the list of the non-refundable submission entry fees:

  • First Entry or Built, Not Built: $750.00 for each entry
  • Additional Project(s) or Small Project under $3 million: $500.00 for each entry


A jury of architects and care providers for the aging will select the projects to be published and exhibited. Awards of Merit will be awarded to projects that represent advanced design concepts, research and solutions sensitive to the needs of an aging population. Special Recognition will be granted to projects that, while not Awards of Merit, display special features or innovations that warrant acknowledgement as exemplary, trend setting or innovative. Additionally, the jury may select projects for publication that offer distinction and notable competency.

Award of Merit and Special Recognition projects will be exhibited at the LeadingAge annual meetings and AIA national conventions. Award of Merit and Special Recognition recipients and other selected projects may also be included in presentations made by the AIA Design for Aging Knowledge Community at other venues.

submit project

KnowledgeNet Share on Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

The American Institute of Architects
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006
KC Logo

This message was intended for: %%emailaddr%%
The AIA strives to provide information that is most relevant to you. To update your contact information or add an AIA Knowledge Community, update your Account.