In Praise of the Classics: The AIA Twenty-five Year Award
Nominations are due August 29


The buildings chosen to receive the AIA Twenty-five Year Award distinguish themselves by their ability to stand to the test of time. They must have been completed 25 to 35 years ago and must be projects in the U.S. or abroad designed by an architect licensed in the U.S.

Which buildings are eligible for nomination?

  • The award is open to architecture projects of all classifications and may be one building or a related group of buildings forming a single project.
  • The project may be located either in the U.S. or abroad, must have been completed between 1969 and 1979, and must have been designed by an architect licensed in the U.S.
  • The project must be standing in a substantially completed form and in good condition.
  • The project should still carry out the original program. Change of use is permitted when it has not basically altered original intent.
  • The project must have excellence in function—in the distinguished execution of its original program and in the creative aspects of its statement by today's standards. Building and site together should be examined. Any alteration to the immediate context shall be taken into consideration.
  • Nominations previously submitted may be resubmitted provided they still meet the stipulated date of substantial completion of the original project.

Who can nominate candidates for the awards?
Any AIA member, group of members, component, or PIA may nominate a project for the Twenty-five Year Award. For a list of current components, visit AIA.org. Each PIA lists its own advisory group on its Web site. Go to the Institute’s home page, pull down the “Learn About Knowledge Communities” list, and click on a Knowledge Community/PIA. Each lists its advisory group.

What format should the submission take?
Complete instructions and materials for the preparation of a Twenty-five Year Award nomination may be obtained by contacting the AIA Honors and Awards Department, 202-626-7563 or rmartin@aia.org.

Each submission shall contain:

  • A nomination statement by the sponsoring AIA member, group of members, component, or PIA
  • A short description of the original project; a statement of the condition of the project with respect to use and general appearance at the time of the submission; and a brief outline of the transformations, if any, that may have taken place in the interim period
  • A minimum of four photographs (either black-and-white or color), a maximum of six slides, and site and floor plans to illustrate properly the project in its original condition, must be included
  • If available, a minimum of four photographs; a maximum of six slides; and site and floor plans of the extent of intervening changes, if any, should be included with the submission to assist the jury in its evaluation
  • A minimum of two photographs and a maximum of four slides of the project in its current condition
  • A signed intern declaration.

When are submissions due?
All submissions must be postmarked no later than August 29, 2003.

Where do I send the submissions?
Send nomination materials to the AIA Honors and Awards Department, 1735 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006-5292, Attention: Twenty-five Year Award.

Why should I nominate a building?
Architecture embodies a continuum of past, present, and future. We owe it to current and future generations to define and honor architecture of our day that has stood to the test of time.

How do I get more information about the Awards?
Contact the AIA Honors and Awards Department, rmartin@aia.org, or go to AIA.org.

Twenty-five Year Award Recipients

1969 Rockefeller Center, New York City, Reinhard & Hofmeister; Corbett, Harrison & MacMurray
1971 The Crow Island School, Winnetka, Ill., Perkins, Wheeler & Will; Eliel & Eero Saarinen
1972 Baldwin Hills Village, Los Angeles, Reginald D. Johnson; Wilson, Merrill & Alexander; Clarence S. Stein
1973 Taliesin West, Paradise Valley, Ariz., Frank Lloyd Wright
1974 Johnson and Son Administration Building, Racine, Wis., Frank Lloyd Wright
1975 Philip Johnson's Residence, ("The Glass House"), New Caanan, Conn., Philip Johnson
1976 860-880 North Lakeshore Drive Apartments, Chicago, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1977 Christ Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, Saarinen, Saarinen & Associates; Hills, Gilbertson & Hays
1978 The Eames House, Pacific Palisades, Calif., Charles and Ray Eames
1979 Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven, Conn., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1980 Lever House, New York City, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
1981 Farnsworth House, Plano, Ill., Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1982 Equitable Savings and Loan Building, Portland, Ore., Pietro Belluschi, FAIA
1983 Price Tower, Bartlesville, Okla., Frank Lloyd Wright
1984 Seagram Building, New York City, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
1985 General Motors Technical Center, Warren, Mich., Eero Saarinen and Associates with Smith, Hinchman & Grylls
1986 Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright
1987 Bavinger House, Norman, Okla., Bruce Goff
1988 Dulles International Airport Terminal Building, Chantilly, Va., Eero Saarinen and Associates
1989 Vanna Venturi House, Chestnut Hill, Pa., Robert Venturi, FAIA
1990 The Gateway Arch, St. Louis, Eero Saarinen and Associates
1991 Sea Ranch Condominium I, The Sea Ranch, Calif., Moore Lyndon Turnbull Whitaker
1992 The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, Calif., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1993 Deere & Company Administrative Center, Moline, Ill., Eero Saarinen and Associates
1994 The Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, Maine, Edward Larrabee Barnes
1995 The Ford Foundation Headquarters, New York City, Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo and Associates
1996 The Air Force Academy Cadet Chapel, Colorado Springs, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
1997 Phillips Exeter Academy Library, Exeter, N. H., Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1998 Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, Louis I. Kahn, FAIA
1999 The John Hancock Center, Chicago, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
2000 The Smith House, Darien, Conn., Richard Meier & Partners
2001 Weyerhaeuser Headquarters, Federal Way, Wash., Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
2002 Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona, Spain, Sert Jackson and Associates
2003 Design Research Headquarters Building, Cambridge, Mass., Benjamin Thompson & Associates.

Copyright 2003 The American Institute of Architects. All rights reserved. Home Page


Pictured is the 2003 Twenty-five Year Award recipient, Design Research Headquarters Building, Cambridge, Mass., by Benjamin Thompson & Associates. Photos © Ezra Stoller/ESTO

For more information, contact the AIA Honors and Awards Department, 202-626-7563 or rmartin@aia.org.

To download a PDF of the 2004 Program Book, full set of AIA Honors and Awards programs, submission dates, and requirements, visit the Institute Honors site on AIA.org.

Refer this article to a friend by email.Email your comments to the editor.Go back to AIArchitect.