Using a mobile device or having trouble viewing this email? View the online version.

AIA Educational Facility Design Awards

Presented by the AIA Committee on Architecture for Education

5 p.m. ET, January 10, 2011
Submission Deadline

Mid-March 2011
Notification of the jury decision

April 12-14, 2011
Award recipients will be presented at the School Building Expo in Chicago

May 12-14, 2011
Award recipients will be exhibited at the AIA National Convention and Design Expo in New Orleans


AIA Educational Facility Awards Homepage

AIA Committee on Architecture for Education Homepage

Contact Us

















Simplify. AIA Contract Documents' user-friendly software makes it easy to write rock-solid contracts with a proven standard. Learn more.

Call For Entries
Submission Deadline: 5 p.m. ET, January 10, 2011

The AIA Committee on Architecture for Education (CAE) annually honors excellence in educational and cultural facilities through its design awards program. While showcasing and celebrating exemplary architecture for education, the program also identifies trends and emerging ideas and disseminates the best ideas and knowledge about educational facility planning and design to clients, architects, and the public.

The Educational Facility Design Awards program recognizes

  • Projects including pre-K, K-12, higher education, and alternative schools; innovative learning centers; training centers; and nontraditional learning environments

  • Projects involving new construction, additions, and renovations or modernizations

  • Master plans, including multiple sites and/or phases

  • Commissioned and completed research projects (however, not hypothetical projects)
See the AIA Educational Facility Awards Homepage for other eligibility requirements.

The program issues three kinds of awards:
  • Awards of Excellence for exemplary projects that
    (a) enhance the client's educational program;
    (b) integrate functional needs and aesthetic considerations while respecting the surrounding community and context; and
    (c) represent best practices in planning and design

  • Awards of Merit for other projects of superior quality

  • Citations for outstanding features of individual projects

Recipients' work will be displayed through several vehicles that reach school boards, administrators, facilities managers, and other client groups around the country and the world.

All entries must be submitted online. For full eligibility rules, judging criteria, and submission requirements or to submit your project materials, visit the 2011 AIA Educational Facility Awards Homepage.

Related Resources
Here are some resources to assist you as you stay current on educational facility design:

Follow the AIA Committee on Architecture for Education on KnowledgeNet

Implementing Recommendations from the Advanced Energy Design Guide for K-12 School Buildings

Image: 2010 AIA Educational Facility Design Award Recipients: Yale University Sculpture Building and Gallery, Kieran Timberlake, Peter Aaron/Esto Photagrapher.

AIA Logo

~  ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~  ~

This message was intended for: %%emailaddr%%
The AIA strives to provide information that is most relevant to you.
To update your contact information or add an AIA Knowledge Community,
update your AIA member profile.