Projects of Note
AIACC Recognizes Design Excellence

AIA California Council recently honored the 2001 recipients of its Firm, Maybeck, and Twenty-five Year Awards, along with the recipients of the organization's Achievement and Design Awards. The California Council made the presentations in Los Angeles June 29.

The group bestowed Craig Hartman, FAIA, Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill, San Francisco, with its Maybeck Award, which honors individual California member architects for outstanding achievement in producing consistently distinguished design. Hartman was noted for his ability to maintain a personal vision while working in the context of a large-scale firm.

AIACC conferred its Firm Award on R.L. Binder, FAIA, Architecture and Planning, Marina del Rey. The woman-owned firm was honored for its design work and its efforts to engage its clients in the design process, nurture and mentor its employees, and give back to the profession through guest lectures, design studios, and critiques.

Pierre Koenig's Bailey HouseBailey House (Case Study House #21), Los Angeles, by Pierre Koenig, FAIA, whose "clean lines and simple elegant forms throughout the home are as classic today as they were when it was first constructed in the 1950s," was honored with AIACC Twenty-five Year Award.

The AIACC honored the following firms with Achievement and Design awards:

2001 AIACC Achievement Awards

• Client Achievement Honor Award—Jane E. Light, San Jose
• Community Housing Assistance Honor Award—Robert G. Pearson, Santa Barbara
• Corporate Architect Honor Award—Paul Schmidt, AIA, Sacramento
• Public Service Honor Award—Kenneth Emery Schwartz, FAIA, San Luis Obispo
• Research and Technology Honor Award—UCLA Urban Simulation Team, Los Angeles
• Certificate of Merit for Research—CHPS Collaborative for High Performance Schools, Irwindale
• Excellence in Education Award—Professor John V. Mutlow, FAIA, Los Angeles
• Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Service—Chester A. Widom, FAIA, Santa Monica; Julius Shulman, Hon. AIA, Los Angeles

2001 AIACC Design Awards

Merit Awards
• The Toyon Hall Renovation, Stanford
Cody Anderson Wasney Architects, Inc., Palo Alto
• Ground Zero Advertising Agency, Marina Del Rey
Shubin + Donaldson Architects, Inc., Santa Barbara
• 101 2nd Street, San Francisco
Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill LLP, San Francisco
• Walter A. Haas Jr. Pavilion, University of California at Berkeley
Ellerbe Becket, San Francisco
• Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati
NBBJ, Marina Del Rey
• International Elementary School, Long Beach
Thomas Blurock Architects, Costa Mesa and Morphosis, Santa Monica
• Iann/Stolz Residence, San Francisco
Kuth-Ranieri Architects, San Francisco
• Lloyd D. George U.S. Courthouse, Las Vegas
Cannon Dworsky, Los Angeles
• Reactor Films, Santa Monica
Pugh + Scarpa, Santa Monica

Honor Awards
• Metro Redline: Vermont/Santa Monica Station
Cannon Dworsky, Los Angeles
• South Coast Plaza Pedestrian Bridge, Garden Terrace and Escada Break-Thru, Costa Mesa
Ellerbe Becket, San Francisco
• Diamond Ranch High School, Pomona
Morphosis, Santa Monica
• Long Meadow Ranch Winery
Turnbull Griffin Haesloop, Berkeley
• New International Terminal, San Francisco International Airport
Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill LLP, Del Campo & Maru, Michael Willis Architect
• Private Residence
Turnbull Griffin Haesloop, Berkeley

Copyright 2001 The American Institute of Architects. All rights reserved.


For a list of award winners and pictures of the projects, visit The AIA California Council Awards site.

Pierre Koenig's Bailey House, a "modernist approach that has withstood the test of time."

Photo Credit: Julius Shulman

Call-up a printer-friendly version of this article.Refer this article to a friend by email.Go back to AIArchitect.comEmail your comments to the author.Email your comments to the editor.